top of page

Yayoi Kusama x Monki window display mock-up


Yayoi Kusama is one of the world’s most influential artists, and has played a crucial role in key art movements of the 20th and 21st centuries. I was lucky enough to visit her exhibit at the National Gallery of Singapore the other day and discover how Yayoi Kusama sees the world. The exhibit featured infinity mirror rooms, the development of her intricate nets, dots and pumpkin motifs, including works never shown before from the 1950s to the present.


I first saw Yayoi Kusama's work a year ago at Mori Art Gallery in Tokyo, Japan. I remember seeing Yayoi Kusama's miniature pumpkin merchandise at the gallery store and was somehow strangely attracted to it. I didn't dare to touch it due to its hefty price tag but I stared at it for a good whole minute just being mesmorized by it. That time, I didn't know who she was but her work left a great impression in my mind as I felt some connection to it which I could not describe. So it was no surprise that she is one of the most influential artists in the world.



So obviously seeing the life sized pumpkin in the infinity mirror room was one of the works I was most exited to see, since it hit me pretty deeply the first time I saw it in Japan. To be honest, it was absolutely overwhelming to see it in person, but I wish we were given more time to absorb and appreciate Yayoi Kusama's creative vision despite the large crowd. Somehow while going through the exhibit, her conceptual art movement pieces reminded me of Monki, a Swedish fashion brand and sister company for Weekday and Cheap Monday. Monki is known for its unique, psychedelic patterns and the statements they make every year for women. Something like what Yayoi Kusama has done through her work, creating feminist art that takes a stand for women. Also, Monki's stores are covered with mirrors, creating an infinity room effect, like Kusama's All the Eternal Love I Have for the Pumpkins work seen on the picture above. I've even bumped into the mirrors several times while shopping at Monki.


Monki store (Photo credits: retaildesignblog.net)


Monki is one of my favourite brands and I feel like their overall style has a resemblance with Yayoi Kusama and her work. So I thought it would be cool to create a mock-up window display for a Yayoi Kusama x Monki collaboration, following the infinity mirror concept.

So this is a mock-up of how the window would look like from the front. Normally window displays immediately show what the latest collection has to offer, but I decided to change it up a notch and do something different. I mean, Yayoi Kusama is all about being different. The front layer will feature a reflective mirror with several peaking boxes to allow by passers to peak through to view the collection. But of course when there's added benefits to the customers, it would be more effective. Hence the Instagram contest, whereby everyone who posts and #yayoikusamaxmonki will get 10% off their purchase and a chance to win $200 vouchers. It gives customers a unique and memorable experience while creating buzz at the same time.


Outfits from left to right:

Duro Olowu dress, MSGM coat, Suzusan top, Stella McCartney jeans, Sleepy Jones t-shirt, Caroline Constas skirt


So this is what it looks like on the inside when customers take a peak through the peaking windows. Polka dot wallpaper is covered on the top and bottom part of the window while all four sides are filled with reflective mirrors, creating the infinity mirror effect. There will also be hanging polka dot balloons to give the room some added dimension, creating an all round polka dot craze. Podiums will be decorated with non other than mini round balls in white and yellow. Mannequins will be dressed in Yayoi Kusama x Monki apparel while striking a bright orange wig, inspired by Yayoi Kusama's signature wig.


Overall, I'm quite satisfied on how it turned out as I managed to illustrated what I imagined to create. Yayoi Kusama and Monki share pretty similar styles with their unique, psychedelic prints. All I hope for now is that my favourite artist and one of my favourite fashion brands would collaborate for real and my life would be complete.



FEATURED POSTS
RECENT POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page